You are here


Curling season wraps up

The Fort Frances Curling Club concluded its competitive season with its annual wind-up over the weekend.

Raymond Roy's rink claimed the Day League title.

The rest of the rink is comprised of Christine Denby, Brian Mueller, Raymond, Wilf Belluz, Don Debenedet, Dave Gosman, Rob Gushulak, and Nancy and Dave Evans.

Lakers' Witherspoon nabs honour

The SIJHL announced Friday that Jake Witherspoon of the Fort Frances Lakers has been named the inaugural recipient of its Trainer/Equipment Manager of the Year Award.

This honour is being presented in recognition of an individual on the training and/or equipment staff of one of the SIJHL's member clubs for their efforts during the season in this capacity.

Muskies getting back on track

Spring has sprung and that means it's time for another track-and-field season.

The Muskies have been doing fitness training since early February and coach John Dutton noted that his squad has been working hard to get ready for their first meet of the season, which is slated for April 17 in Baudette, Mn. (weather permitting).

Muskie, Owl 'birders' impress in tune-up for NorWOSSA qualifier

Members of the Muskie and Rainy River Owls badminton teams were able to fine tune their games and see what they are going to be up against this season in NorWOSSA play at an exhibition tournament last Wednesday in Atikokan.

The Muskies and Owls put in some impressive performances and were able to identify any areas of weakness heading into the NorWOSSA qualifier today in Atikokan.

FFMHA doles out awards

With the season officially in the books, it was time to dish out some hardware.

The Fort Frances Minor Hockey Association held its annual awards night on Sunday in the auditorium of the Memorial Sports Centre.

Here is a list of the winners:


Local skaters shine

The Border Skating Club sent four of its skaters off to Mississauga to compete in the Skate Ontario Provincial Championship back on March 7-10, with excellent results.

Greta Fedoruk, Montana Plasky, Samantha Halliday, and Awnley Jacobsen joined 493 skaters from 110 different Ontario clubs to compete for the top spot in their categories.